San Nakji

San Nakji, live octopus, is a delicacy in Korea. It’s prized for its freshness and flavor, as well as the disconcerting but allegedly delightful wriggling sensation it makes while being eaten. I told my students I had never tried it, and they insisted on taking me- I was told that eating san nakji is a kind of rite of passage in Korea. So with the help of some soju, I bit in!

The verdict- live octopus tastes exactly like raw octopus…obviously. I liked the taste, though it was a bit bland, but the sensation of eating something that’s still moving is truly bizarre. I didn’t necessarily dislike it, but it definitely wouldn’t be my first choice.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

