Artistic Expression

As a teacher, it’s always funny to see what the kids think of me. One second they hate me because playtime is over for the day, and the very next second they are crushing me with hugs and “I love you”s. They’re a fickle bunch. Sometimes they tell me that I’m pretty like a princess and sometimes they ask me why I look like an ugly witch. Or why I’m so old…

Yesterday, I walked into the classroom and Jummei (my favorite student) immediately said, “Katie-Teacher yepuda!” which means “Katie-Teacher, you look pretty!” (it’s obvious why he’s my favorite student). He then drew me this picture:

I'm the one with the purple and pink hair

I’m the one with the purple and pink hair

The students also made portraits of me and Sophia-Teacher (we’re co-teachers) which are predictably hilarious.

Nillohit was the only student to draw me with brown hair

Nillohit was the only student to draw me with brown hair

here, I'm drawn with pink hair

here, I’m drawn with pink hair and a crown

It’s always a mixed bag.

Leave a Reply

