Running on the Ice

Last night it rained and then somehow dipped below freezing, so the streets are covered in ice- weather is merciless magic. I’ve already fallen once and I’ve developed a healthy respect (ahem, fear) for the ice. I was considering skipping my evening jog because of the conditions, but I changed my mind. I’m glad I did, because I discovered the key to running on ice.

1. Take small steps, at least at first. Caution is good when dealing with an unknown.

That being said…

2. Maintain your pace and don’t be afraid. Nervousness will cause you to change speed, which will upset the delicate negotiations happening between moving body and the ice. You might slip a little, it’s natural, but if you let it rattle you, you will fall.

3. Stay the course. The ice doesn’t last forever.

ice

One thought on “Running on the Ice

Leave a Reply

