A Magpie for Hongdae

Seoul is an enormous city. I know that’s an obvious thing to say, but it’s truly monstrously sized. I live out in the boonies (Yeongtong), so getting into the hip areas of the city takes almost an hour and a half. And yet, I still happily made the trek to Hongdae and Itaewon this weekend (Itaewon will be discussed further in a forthcoming post).

Hongdae has a fantastic little outdoor market, some enviable street art,

Street art, coolest bathroom sign ever or both?

Street art, coolest bathroom sign ever or both?

and some wonderful restaurants, but what really got me was Magpie’s. Actual pale ale (as opposed to Cass, which is Korean for Budweiser) in a weirdly enticing cave-like bar.

Inside Magpie's

Inside Magpie’s

Both my friend and I love beer; we spent a couple relaxing hours in Magpies.

oh how I missed you, but we're reunited. Me and pale ale

oh how I missed you, but we’re reunited. Me and pale ale

And the day was only just beginning….

Leave a Reply

