Contrasts

My refrigerator broke this morning, so I’m eating ramen for dinner. With wine. Ramen noodles and Chilean wine. It’s a strange, contrasting meal but it speaks to my experience so far.
South Korea has Ben full of contrasts. I can’t drink the tap water, but there’s wifi everywhere. There’s an emphasis on the conservatism of society, but yet I’m teaching English to children so that they can compete in the so called “English Millennium” (one of my schools slogans). Women can wear skirts up to there, but any sign of a collarbone is considered scandalous.

 

Leave a Reply

